Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. There are seven areas of learning and development.  Within these areas there are 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.

Prime areas of learning
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language Development
Specific areas of learning
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
Babies and children develop in individual ways and varying rates. Every area of development – physical, cognitive, linguistic, spiritual, social and emotional is equally important.  All practitioners should, therefore, look carefully at children in their care, consider needs, interests and their stages of development to help plan challenging and enjoyable experiences. 

2 year learning and development summary
If your child has started the setting when they are 2, your child’s key worker will complete a 2 year check just before their 3rd birthday. Key workers will write about how your child has settled into the setting and include next steps to support learning and development. There is a section at the end for parents/ carers to complete.  This form is to be bought back to your key worker who will then pass this information onto your Health Visitor.